It Is In the Eyes

Some days I want to rest in years of silence

   in which to think

      and breathe

         and be.

Some days I want to soak up years of watchfulness

   to see seasons bloom and fade

   to see people grow and die

   to see words flow across pages.

Some days I want to dirty my shovel

   dig into fertile soil

   beneath flowers and trees

   beneath worms and rocks and roots

   to find bedrock truth

 to devour it covered in honey

      wrapped in dandelion leaves.

Other days I want to practice

   meditation in the din of crowds

   and name-calling abuse.

I want to learn about the nature of God

   through the eyes of the people

      smushed belly to butt

      street after street

      crowding together

      with the singular purpose

         to feel the music.

I believe what is true today was true yesterday

   and will still be true tomorrow.

I believe it is still true in noise or silence.

I believe it is still true whether one believes or not —

Across philosophies. Across religions.

Across time and space

      and absence of it all.

I believe if I keep my eyes open I will see it

   everywhere I look.

It will stain my eyelids

         until it is all I see.

~Kat Wolper

Leave a comment

Filed under poetry

Leave a Reply

