Growth Spurt

I come back this way
every so often
on my path
and look through the bushes again
for Easter eggs

I have grown since I was last here
will l be able to see over the fence?

Teachings are like flowers blooming
patience needed to see every petal
They’re already there
tight, hidden, in gorgeous buds

Tend to the teachings already learned
water, sun, and soil are needed for the heart, too

When one honors the teachings
they bloom
revealing more layers inside

When I come back this way
on my path
every so often I notice I can see further down the road than before

Some fences look short now
and I can cross over them
understanding first hand
the differences in the grass

Leave a comment

Filed under poetry

Leave a Reply

